Bill Mobley Jazz Orchestra, Live at Smoke Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, Space Time Records (2012)


cover art

Upon entering their third year of Monday nights at the venerable NYC jazz club Smoke, the Bill Mobley Jazz Orchestra released a live recording from the venue. Hard swing, interesting forms, rich harmonies and lyricism are all cornerstones of this ensemble’s sound.

Track Listing

CD 1

  1. I Remember JW
  2. The Hymnotist
  3. Time Riff

    Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

  4. Eastern Star
  5. Four Play
  6. Laura
  7. Ed’s Groove

CD 2

  1. Upper West Side Story
  2. Sister Cheryl
  3. Travelogue
  4. A Glance in Frozen Time
  5. Arioso
  6. But Not for Me


Bill Mobley — Trumpet and Bandleader


  • Jon Gordon — Alto & Soprano Saxophones, Flute
  • Vito Chiavuzzo — Alto & Soprano Saxophones, Flute
  • Danny Walsh — Tenor Saxophone, flute
  • Jed Levy — Tenor Saxophone, Flute
  • Andrew Gutauskas — Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet


  • Seneca Black
  • Mat Jodrell
  • Chris Persad
  • Andy Gravish


  • Noah Bless
  • Pete McGuinness
  • Tim Sessions


  • Jon Davis — Piano
  • Phil Palombi — Bass
  • Scott Neumann — Drums

Release Date: February 2012
Label: Space Time Records

 Posted by at 10:08 pm